Logo Cinemed

Séance Theo Angelopoulos


The Dust of Time
I skoni tou chronou - Theo Angelopoulos
- Fiction


Grèce - 2008 - 2 h 5 mn - Réalisation : Theo Angelopoulos - Scénario : Theo Angelopoulos, Tonino Guerra, Petros Markaris - Décor : Andrea Crisanti, Dionysis Fotopoulos - Montage : Yorgos Helidonidis, Yannis Tsitsopoulos - Musique : Eleni Karaindrou - Interprétation : Willem Dafoe, Bruno Ganz, Michel Piccoli, Irène Jacob, Christiane Paul -

Contact : Theo Angelopoulos Film Productions - 18 Solomou Street - Exarchia - 106 82 Athènes - Grèce - Tél : 30 210 383 91 20 - Fax : 30 210 382 05 82 - e-mail : info@theoangelopoulos.com

Corum - Opéra Berlioz Samedi 24 octobre 2009, 16 h 30

A director named A. begins making a film about the life of his parents, Spyros and Eleni. Time and again, the love story of these two Greek emigrants has been influenced by historical events: separated from each other during the Second World War, Spyros emigrated to the USA; in the wake of civil war in Greece Eleni found herself in the Soviet Union, along with other political exiles. A. was obliged to flee to Canada as a result of the Vietnam War. The fall of the Berlin Wall marked the beginning of a new era in his life.

Theo Angelopoulos

Born in Athens in 1935, Theo Angelopoulos studied law and then cinema at IDHEC in Paris. He was the film critic for the daily paper Allaghi from 1964 to 1967. A feature film started in 1965 with the pop group Formix was never completed. In 1968, he made the short film L'Emission. He is the most representative director in New Greek Cinema. He has received many prizes and awards at most of the film festivals in the world, including in particular the Silver Lion award in Venice for Landscape in the Mist in 1988, the Grand Jury Prize in Cannes in 1995 for Ulysses' Gaze and finally the Palme d'or in Cannes for Eternity and a Day (1998). His other films include: Reconstruction (1970), Days of 36 (1972), The Travelling Players (1975), The Hunters (1977), Alexander the Great (1980), Voyage to Cythera (1984), The Beekeeper (1986), The Suspended Step of the Stork (1991), The Weeping Meadow (2004) and Chacun son cinéma (2007).